People Change. Ideas don’t.

The audience that I have in mind while writing this post could just be anyone who might be interested in reading this. So, he or she might advocate the Islamic worldview, disagree with it, or is just neutral about it. I also felt the need to qualify that I do not have Muslims in mind while writing this post. My purpose in this blog post is to somehow straighten the fallacious thinking of people who condemns all Muslims because of the acts done by ISIS. I’ll just lay out my view with regard to the ISIS attacks. I also felt the need to qualify that I am not advocating the Islamic worldview in this post but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t love, respect and in my case defend them . They’re also human beings like any one of us. AND they are also created in the image and likeness of God.

No offense but I personally think that the acts done by ISIS do not immediately discredit the Islamic worldview. This line of thinking commits Ad Hominem Attack – the person is attacked instead of the ideas of the person. We also try to equate that all Muslims are terrorists and that in itself is another logical fallacy – fallacy of composition (the parts do not conclusively make up the whole). Don’t get me wrong. I’m not trying to defend the Islamic worldview. I just want us to examine the Islamic worldview without any biases. We are quick to judge because our JUDGMENTS come BEFORE our EXAMINATIONS. Examine the worldview first before casting judgments. AND let us try to separate the beliefs of the person with the person who holds it. All of us should still be treated with equal respect, love, and dignity regardless of our beliefs.

If we are to discredit Islam because of the ISIS attacks then we should also discredit Christianity because of the atrocious and sinful acts that were done by “professing” Christians throughout church history. All have sinned and has fallen short of the glory of God. (Rom 3:23) We are all imperfect and we can never achieve perfection in this earth. It is also possible for US to profess a belief yet mistakenly possess it. PROFESSION OF FAITH IS NOT SYNONYMOUS TO POSSESSION OF FAITH. Thus, the most reasonable way in evaluating our beliefs is to view these in light of absolute reality.

We might ask questions like these.

Does Islam teach violence in light of the Qur,an? Since, there are events stated in the Qur’an, we might ask this questions like this. Are the events verifiable with historical evidences? Do the principles stated in the Qur’an reflect God’s character? (e.g. Love, Holy, Grace, Justice, Righteous, Immutable, Almighty, All-Knowing, Sovereign) Is the Qur’an reliable? How did it originate? How can one be saved in the Islamic worldview? What are the means for a Muslim to be saved? Yes, I know that these are hard questions but I think that it would somehow shed light in these devastating events that are happening in the world.

There’s no victor in war and violence just death, suffering and devastating consequences. Apparently, ideas have consequences. Godly ideas should result to godly consequences. Conversely, ungodly ideas result to ungodly consequences. That doesn’t mean that if we have the wrong ideas then we are now hopeless. We can always change our view over something. Can we not? That being said, before we try to change the world, let us try first ti change our fallacious ideas over something and then inevitably change the consequences that those ideas bring.

Soli Deo Gloria.

Author: nobody.who.has.Jesus

I don't know where to pour out my thoughts so I've decided to pour it out on my blog posts. I want to encourage and enlighten people through my blog posts so I really hope that I'd be a blessing to you as the reader. I just want also to take this opportunity to say how much I appreciate the people who have read my blog posts. :) Feel free to comment your questions, criticisms, and encouragements. I'd really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

