Time Time Time

One of the cliches about time is: time is gold. Indeed, it’s so precious that the usage of it partly determines our direction in life. How we currently invest our time partly contributes  in the determination of our course in life. If we’re investing it in the entertainment of oneself then we’d be more of a people who are self-seeking rather than self-sacrificial. If we’re investing it in the pursuit of knowledge then we’d know more things. All of the activities that we do entails time. So, time is really an essential component in the progression of one’s life.

Lately, I’ve been thinking whether I’m making the most of the time that God has given me. As they say, “we could never turn back time.” So, I think it’s really important to make the most out of it so that when we try to contemplate on the past, we could somehow trace through time’s passage that we didn’t waste that much time for unimportant stuff.

These thoughts came across my head because I was struck with this verse in Ephesians 5:15 which states, “Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise, making the most of your time, because the days are evil.”

The Apostle Paul instructed the Christians in Ephesus to carefully live one’s life by making the most of their time because the days are evil. What I’ve observed in this verse is that wise people make the most of their time because they know that the days are evil. So, every opportunity to do good, to speak encouraging words, and to think about heavenly stuff gives us this sense of urgency to seize to do these things because of the normal evil pattern of the day. On the other hand, we can deduce in the statement, that unwise people don’t make the use of their time and that they don’t live carefully even though they’re aware the days are evil. So, they’re like not resisting the evil tide but are just tossed by it towards the direction that the world wants to be.

To put it in a nutshell, there are two kinds of Christians at Ephesus: the wise and the unwise. Wise people are careful as they live their lives while unwise people don’t exercise a good sense of judgment. The former make the most of their time while the latter people waste their time. Both responded differently in light of the same knowledge that they had – the days are evil. So, we can also say that our response to the circumstances that we face show whether we are wise or unwise.

I think we can apply this verse in our life by first assessing the activities that consume our time. And then after that, we can ask these questions to filter those activities that don’t have eternal value: Am I just doing this for myself or for God? Does this activity show the Lordship of Christ in my life? Does this activity show that I’m a follower of Christ? Does this help me improve to be a better steward of the gifts that God has given me? Does this help building up other people? Does this help me grow more like Christ? Does this contribute to the advancement of God’s kingdom? These questions are not exhaustive but I think it could filter the nonessential activities that we do.

I think it’s not just about filtering out the nonessential activities that counts but it’s also seeking to do what pleases God. So, we can say that making the most of our time should be grounded in one’s knowledge of how to use our time properly. And by that, I mean we do the things that God wants us to do.  Doing the things that God wants us to do starts from the knowledge of the commandments of God. We can’t just do something that we can’t know. So, as part of living wisely, it’s important to know the commandments of God and the activities that please God.

I think it’s important to note that this is not just for the sake of doing things but doing things out of the heart that desires to do better things out of gratitude to God because  of what He did on the cross. So that as people observe the deeds that we do, they’d give praise to our Father in Heaven so that in all things, it’s God alone who’d be glorified.

I hope you’re still with me. Let me summarize what I’ve contemplated.

  1. Time is of great essence because the days are evil.
  2. Since, time is essential because the days are evil, let’s make the most of every opportunity that God gives us.
  3. We do this by knowing the nonessential activities and giving it up.
  4. And replacing those nonessential activities with the things that God wants us to do.
  5. Knowledge of God’s Word is important for us to know the things that should be given up and the things we should give our strength for.
  6. And lastly, to not just do things out of service but out of the heart that desires to please God because of what He has done in our lives.

Hope you are blessed with this post. God bless you! 🙂

 

 

 

Author: nobody.who.has.Jesus

I don't know where to pour out my thoughts so I've decided to pour it out on my blog posts. I want to encourage and enlighten people through my blog posts so I really hope that I'd be a blessing to you as the reader. I just want also to take this opportunity to say how much I appreciate the people who have read my blog posts. :) Feel free to comment your questions, criticisms, and encouragements. I'd really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

