When Love and Hate Collide

The phrase “Love and Hate collide” caught my attention to the point that I contemplated the phrase for quite some time. It’s a title of a song that I’m not that familiar of but I was just struck because of the profundity of the title.

I just want to relate the title of this blog with what Christ did for His people. I mentioned that the title is profound because of it’s biblical orientation even though it was a secular song. Reconstructing the phrase and adding few words to it, I’ve arrived at this sentence: Love and hate collide when Christ died on the cross.

I wrote a while ago that it has a biblical orientation. So, I think it’s best first to support it with a solid biblical ground so as to justify the preceding claim. God’s love towards sinners is quoted in Romans 5:8. It states that, “but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” I think all of us could agree that God is love so there’s nothing quite of a contention in this claim. I think the normalcy of this truth – that God is love – has also it’s downfall if not taken in light of all God’s attributes. Most of us think that God’s chief virtue is love – that He is more loving than He is just. His attributes are all on the same plain for each attribute is infinite. We can’t just say that God’s love is greater that His justice because both are infinite. There’s no solid ground for that assertion because we don’t have a weighing scale that could measure God’s infinite attributes. And since, God’s love and justice are both infinite, it’s best to think that they’re on the same level.

I think there’d be much controversy if ever we encountered a statement as this – God hates us. This stems again from the fact that we have the tendency to think that since God is love, ergo, He cannot hate. However, when we try to analyze that statement carefully, we’ll come to the conclusion that since God is love, ergo, He must hate. Since, God loves children, therefore, He hates abortion. Since, God loves His image-bearers, He hates those who mar their image for it’s also His image. His love is an expression of His righteousness. The problem is we are all responsible in impairing the image that God has bestowed upon us because of sin. There’s no one who’s exempted for all are sinners and all have fallen short from the standard that God requires of us. (Rom. 3:23)

The bible even used the word abhor which is more intense than the word hate. It’s found in Psalm 5:5 to 6. It’s stated as follows, “The boastful shall not stand before Your eyes;
You hate all who do iniquity. You destroy those who speak falsehood; The Lord abhors the man of bloodshed and deceit.

So, God hates and abhors sinners but it’s also said that God demonstrates His love towards us in the death of His Son. So, the profundity of these truths would cause anyone who ponder these truths to ask this question: How can God love and hate sinners at the same time? The profundity of this question is answered by the immeasurable significance of the cross of Christ. God poured out His hatred against sinners upon His only begotten Son – Jesus Christ when He bore the sins of His people on His body at the cross. And it’s also at the cross of Christ that God fully demonstrated His love towards sinners when He sent His utterly beloved and only Son to take their punishment on their behalf. Christ took the punishment that is due our sins because of His love towards us. God loves ill-deserving sinners by virtue of Christ because in union with Him sinners are made holy and blameless because of the perfect righteousness of Christ that clothed them through faith alone. Sinners are faultless before the tribunal of God because they’re dressed in His righteousness alone.

This is like God’s way of saying I hate you but I also love you at the same time by virtue of His Son.

That’s why “When Love and Hate Collide” is profound because it points us to the cross of Christ.

If you want to see God’s love for sinners, marvel at the cross. If you want to see God’s hatred for sinners, marvel at the cross.

Hope you are blessed. God bless you.

 

Author: nobody.who.has.Jesus

I don't know where to pour out my thoughts so I've decided to pour it out on my blog posts. I want to encourage and enlighten people through my blog posts so I really hope that I'd be a blessing to you as the reader. I just want also to take this opportunity to say how much I appreciate the people who have read my blog posts. :) Feel free to comment your questions, criticisms, and encouragements. I'd really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

