Here’s my heart – take and seal it.

“The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it?” (Jer. 17:9)

šŸ© trust your heart. (I hope you get the joke over there. )

Kidding aside, I’d just like to relate this verse with the hymn that profoundly struck me today. It’s titled, “Count, Thou Fount of Every Blessing”. I just want to zero in on the fact that our hearts are the ultimate wanderlusts. It’s always prone to wander away from the Lord and leave the God we love over the things of this world as the hymn so aptly puts it. Most often than not, we exchange God over money, fame, approval, attention, pleasures, and relationships. Our hearts are so deceitful that it could convince us to the point that we could say to ourselves that the exchange is worth it.

But no, it’s never worth it for emptiness and futility await you upon making that exchange. Jesus alone could truly and fully satisfy the insatiable desires that we have for He is eternally satisfying.

Let nothing or no one get in between the intimate love relationship that we have with Jesus. The desires of our wicked hearts should be overruled by stronger desires. And that desires are always our love for Christ and joy in Him.

I think this is also the best defense against temptation. It is to say that, “I’m just so joyful with this love relationship that I have with Jesus that I don’t want anyone or anything to get in between the two of us.”

Let me just stop here by quoting the last 4 lines of the hymn.

“Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it in Thy courts above.”

Hope you are blessed. God bless!

Author: nobody.who.has.Jesus

I don't know where to pour out my thoughts so I've decided to pour it out on my blog posts. I want to encourage and enlighten people through my blog posts so I really hope that I'd be a blessing to you as the reader. I just want also to take this opportunity to say how much I appreciate the people who have read my blog posts. :) Feel free to comment your questions, criticisms, and encouragements. I'd really appreciate it.

2 thoughts on “Here’s my heart – take and seal it.”

Leave a Reply

