Gospel Friends

Why is two better than one?

We’re all blind of our own fallacies.

That is, we all have our own blind spots – that which we may not be aware of but other people may be aware of. It could be quirks but it could be worse – subtle sins. I think the main reason why such is the case is that normalcy breeds obscurity. We are less aware of things that are normal to us.

I love what Paul Tripp said about fellowship, “The Hebrews passage [Heb. 3:13] clearly teaches that personal insight is the product of community. I need you in order to really see and know myself. Otherwise, I will listen to my own arguments, believe my own lies, and buy into my own delusions. My self-perception is as accurate as a carnival mirror. If I am going to see myself clearly, I need you to hold the mirror of God’s Word in front of me.”

Ergo, we need somebody who could lovingly, gently, and truthfully point out those subtleties that creep into our lives for the mortification of such. The goal of which is for us to be conformed to the likeness of the God of the glorious gospel that we worship.

Without gospel friends who’d choose to confront you rather than backbite or gossip about you, our maturity is hampered and the gospel is tarnished.

We all need that person who’d speak the truth to us in love. We all need that person who’d be willing to sacrifice the relationship that he or she has with us just to tell us that we’re not on the right track.

We all need gospel friends.

As Albert Mohler said, they hold us close as Christ holds us fast.

 

Author: nobody.who.has.Jesus

I don't know where to pour out my thoughts so I've decided to pour it out on my blog posts. I want to encourage and enlighten people through my blog posts so I really hope that I'd be a blessing to you as the reader. I just want also to take this opportunity to say how much I appreciate the people who have read my blog posts. :) Feel free to comment your questions, criticisms, and encouragements. I'd really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

