Thoughts of Lewis on Christian Marriage

Somehow, I now grasp why C.S. Lewis is known as one of the finest Christian thinkers in his time. He was a bachelor yet his thoughts on love, ‘being in love’, and marriage are profound. I really want to share the whole chapter on Christian marriage but it’s really long. (Hehe ) So, I decided to just post what struck me the most. Kindly see excerpt below:

“Ceasing to be ‘in love’ need not mean ceasing to love. Love in the second sense – love as distinct from ‘being in love’ – is not merely a feeling. It is a deep unity, maintained by the will and deliberately strengthened by habit; reinforced by (in Christian marriages) the grace which both partners ask, and receive, from God. They can have this love for each other even at those moments when they do not like each other; as you love yourself even when you do not like yourself. They can retain this love even when each would easily, if they allowed themselves, be ‘in love’ with someone else. ‘Being in love’ first moved them to promise fidelity: this quieter love enables them to keep the promise. It is on this love that the engine of marriage is run: being in love was the explosion that started it.” (Mere Christianity)

Author: nobody.who.has.Jesus

I don't know where to pour out my thoughts so I've decided to pour it out on my blog posts. I want to encourage and enlighten people through my blog posts so I really hope that I'd be a blessing to you as the reader. I just want also to take this opportunity to say how much I appreciate the people who have read my blog posts. :) Feel free to comment your questions, criticisms, and encouragements. I'd really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

