Are You a Good Listener?

This blog post about listening rebuked me because I’m more of a talker than a listener. We as Christians could serve people well when we listen to them so as to know their needs. Indeed, the instruction made by the Apostle James is a timeless truth; he wrote that we should “be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to be angry for the anger of God does not produce the righteousness of man.” (Jas 1:19 to 20)

A New Lens

IMG_1639

G.K. Chesterton has said, “There’s a lot of difference between listening and hearing.” I agree.

If you have been reading my recent posted articles, you are aware there has been a theme about listening. Yes, I have been reading an outstanding book about listening, The Listening Life, by Adam McHugh, but this is a subject and area that has been a keen interest of mine for likely the whole of my life.

If I were to ask you if you were a good listener, many (if not most) of you would say you are a “decent” or “pretty good” listener. Some of us may be and so we are factually answering the question. More of us are not, but know we should be good listeners or we want to be good listeners. No matter where we are on the continuum, ALL of us can grow in this area.

I…

View original post 782 more words

Author: nobody.who.has.Jesus

I don't know where to pour out my thoughts so I've decided to pour it out on my blog posts. I want to encourage and enlighten people through my blog posts so I really hope that I'd be a blessing to you as the reader. I just want also to take this opportunity to say how much I appreciate the people who have read my blog posts. :) Feel free to comment your questions, criticisms, and encouragements. I'd really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

