Disordered Love

Hello! A friend gave some corrections and feedback. This is by far my favorite blog post that I wrote because some quotes are from Augustine and Timothy Keller – followers of Jesus whom I deeply admire. I would really appreciate it if you could share your thoughts with me. 🙂

A nobody who has Jesus

“The essence of sin is disordered love.” (Augustine)

Lately, I’ve been contemplating this quote from Augustine and I’ve tried to relate it on my own experiences, other people’s experiences, and my personal Bible meditation, study, and readings.

Basically, sin is love that is out of order as Augustine so aptly puts it. We could infer from that statement that there’s a right order of love and a wrong order of love. Say for example, if I prioritize video games over my studies then it’s in the wrong order of priority. If I prioritize my career over my family then it’s the wrong order of priority. All of us could agree that this is a wrong way of ordering our priorities. And Augustine said that it is the essence of sin: the disordering of things. At the heart of sin is the disordering of loves and ordering it in a manner…

View original post 1,031 more words

Author: nobody.who.has.Jesus

I don't know where to pour out my thoughts so I've decided to pour it out on my blog posts. I want to encourage and enlighten people through my blog posts so I really hope that I'd be a blessing to you as the reader. I just want also to take this opportunity to say how much I appreciate the people who have read my blog posts. :) Feel free to comment your questions, criticisms, and encouragements. I'd really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

