Reading Different Theological Traditions

Good read. 🙂

each thought captive

Tim Keller, pastor of Redeemer Presbyterian in NYC, has many great one-liners. He’s gained wisdom through his years in life and ministry. Keller had this to say about reading:

When you listen and read one thinker, you become a clone… two thinkers, you become confused… ten thinkers, you’ll begin developing your own voice… two or three hundred thinkers, you become wise and develop your voice. (http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/246271-when-you-listen-and-read-one-thinker-you-become-a)

I’d like to take a moment and step back so as to apply this quote to reading various theological traditions. Let me explain why I believe this is important (or, has been important in my own life).

I was raised in a conservative United Methodist church. While I don’t remember a great deal of theological instruction from the church, I can now think back through my theological lens and see why they did “church” the way they did. After my parents died during my…

View original post 786 more words

Author: nobody.who.has.Jesus

I don't know where to pour out my thoughts so I've decided to pour it out on my blog posts. I want to encourage and enlighten people through my blog posts so I really hope that I'd be a blessing to you as the reader. I just want also to take this opportunity to say how much I appreciate the people who have read my blog posts. :) Feel free to comment your questions, criticisms, and encouragements. I'd really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

