Guard your eyes

How many of us have fallen into sin because we have failed to guard our eyes? What do we do with our eyes when boredom strikes or when we are alone? I am particularly guilty of this. Most of us are. There are many sinful and useless things that we have seen because we are not intentional in using our eyes for the glory of God and the good of others.

Guarding our eyes is crucial because what we see directly affects the condition of our hearts. And when our hearts are infected by what we see, what we do is also affected. Lust-filled videos will inevitably result to lust-fueled actions. That is why we should guard our eyes with all our might because the world is bombarding us with so many images that corrupt our souls. We would be better brothers, fathers, and sons to the members of the opposite sex if we would do well in using our eyes for God-honoring activities. Hence, it is important that we should discipline ourselves to watch things that please God and build up others. There are so many things we watch that are an utter waste of time and harm others in the long-run. Let us cry out with the psalmist and say, “Turn my eyes from looking at worthless things; and give me life in your ways.” (Psalm 119:37) Let us say no to temptation through the power of the Holy Spirit. Let us put to death sin by letting our trusted friends know that we are struggling and need accountability and prayers in this area. Let us not make provision for the flesh. There are times that deactivating social media would help secure your victory. There are times also that abstaining from watching movies would help. Let us use our time well knowing that we are merely stewards and not owners. Let us use our time in activities that please God. Let us fight this battle by guarding our eyes using the strength that God supplies knowing that the pure in heart is blessed and their blessedness is due to the fact that they will see God. Guarding our eyes deepen our experience with God because it removes sin in our lives which is the very thing that hinders us from experiencing more of God.

Author: justinmykoagpangan

I don't know where to pour out my thoughts so I've decided to pour it out on my blog posts. I want to encourage and enlighten people through my blog posts so I really hope that I'd be a blessing to you as the reader. I just want also to take this opportunity to say how much I appreciate the people who have read my blog posts. Thank you in advance! :) Feel free to comment your questions, criticisms, and encouragements. I'd really appreciate it.

Leave a comment