Cultivating Divine Awareness

“He is not greater in this house than I am, nor has he kept back anything from me except you, because you are his wife. How then can I do this great wickedness and sin against God?” (Gen. 39:9)

Joseph was being tempted by the wife of Potiphar to have an illicit affair with her. Her consistent offers were rejected by Joseph. For me, the key in Joseph’s victory over the temptation that fell upon him was that Joseph cultivated divine awareness. Joseph knew that God is watching him and that nothing was hidden in the sight of God. Joseph knew that committing this sin was against Potiphar, his master, but he knew it was primarily a sin against God. Joseph cultivated divine awareness. He knew that nothing is hidden in God’s sight. He knew that his life was completely laid bare in the eyes of His omniscient and omnipresent God. Out of his reverence towards God, it was unthinkable for him to commit this great evil against God.

This is one of the valuable lessons that I have learned in the life of Joseph. He lived a life of integrity before God. Divine awareness is something that we should cultivate. We know that God is omniscient and omnipresent but there are times that we live as if it is not true, consequently, it results to the committal of sin.

Let us cultivate divine awareness by acknowledging God’s presence everywhere we are. Let us pray to God that we will be able to live a life that pleases Him because He is always watching. Let us be mindful that our loving Father won’t tolerate sin and would discipline us concerning the wrong things that we do. Let us live like Joseph, who was constantly aware that a holy God watches over him. In so doing, he live a pleasing life before the eyes of the God who looks after him.

Author: justinmykoagpangan

I don't know where to pour out my thoughts so I've decided to pour it out on my blog posts. I want to encourage and enlighten people through my blog posts so I really hope that I'd be a blessing to you as the reader. I just want also to take this opportunity to say how much I appreciate the people who have read my blog posts. Thank you in advance! :) Feel free to comment your questions, criticisms, and encouragements. I'd really appreciate it.

2 thoughts on “Cultivating Divine Awareness”

Leave a comment