Sanctification is an Uphill Battle

Sanctification is the process of being more and more like Christ. In this process, we actively participate with the help of the Holy Spirit as we pursue holiness. We just don’t passively sit and wait to grow in Christlikeness. We actively pursue it by doing what the bible commands us to do with the help of the Holy Spirit. We do God’s commands not just in deed but also with the right motive. We ask God every day to create in us a pure heart as we live lives pleasing to Him.

As I seek to participate in my sanctification every day, it dawned on me that sanctification is an uphill battle. The moment we stop moving upward, we fall back and dwindle. The world, the flesh, and the devil will drown us with its raging tides. We need to resist, stand firm, and always move forward to achieve progress. Otherwise, we will just regress in this uphill battle.

There are moments in my life when I become complacent. I get satisfied with the things I do for the Lord, and then I try to be lax in the battle that I have against my flesh, the world, and the devil. In these moments, sin subtly creeps into my heart until it becomes too observable to be noticed. Praise be to God that I could just come to Him as I honestly admit my sins against Him. Though that is the case, I have learned that we should be really diligent in daily disciplines that we ought to maintain to be a fruitful Christian. Complacency should be replaced with consistency and we could have consistency with the help of God.

Author: justinmykoagpangan

I don't know where to pour out my thoughts so I've decided to pour it out on my blog posts. I want to encourage and enlighten people through my blog posts so I really hope that I'd be a blessing to you as the reader. I just want also to take this opportunity to say how much I appreciate the people who have read my blog posts. Thank you in advance! :) Feel free to comment your questions, criticisms, and encouragements. I'd really appreciate it.

Leave a comment