Focus on the things you really ought to do

There are so many things in this life that I want to do but I know that I do not have enough time to prioritize all the things I want. I should just choose a few tasks and invest my life in it.

As followers of Christ, our main task is to make disciples of Jesus Christ who will also make disciples of Christ. (Matt. 28:18-20) This should be the main thing in our lives because this is what Christ has sent for us to do. This is the Master’s command. On our end, evangelism and discipleship should be a lifestyle to us and not just a weekly thing. At home, work, and in our free time, we should use every sphere in our lives as opportunities to usher people to Christ and teach others to follow Christ by our lips and also by our lives.

I do not mean to say that leisure is wrong or that hobbies should be given up. What I am trying to say is that we could redefine our leisure and hobbies to suit what we are called to do in life. Even though our gifts, abilities, and desires allow us to work differently, the end goal for these things is still the same: the glory of God. We are called to make God known through our lips and our lives.

Since, our lives calling is to show Christ not just by our lips but also our lives. There are things that we ought not to do because it gives reproach to our witness. There are movies that we should not watch. There are places that we should not go to. There are activities that we shouldn’t do. Avoiding these things are necessary for us to pursue God’s call in our lives. Nevertheless, there are so many legitimate things that we could do for the glory of God.

So, let us grow in wisdom as we saturate our hearts with God’s word so that we would know the things that we ought to do for His glory and the good of others.

Author: justinmykoagpangan

I don't know where to pour out my thoughts so I've decided to pour it out on my blog posts. I want to encourage and enlighten people through my blog posts so I really hope that I'd be a blessing to you as the reader. I just want also to take this opportunity to say how much I appreciate the people who have read my blog posts. Thank you in advance! :) Feel free to comment your questions, criticisms, and encouragements. I'd really appreciate it.

Leave a comment