Why consider the brevity of life?

So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.

(Psalms 90:12 ESV)

We should ask God to reveal to us the brevity of life in order for us to grow in wisdom. Realizing the shortness of life will cause us to invest our time wisely and pursue activities that have eternal value and significance. Our life is like a “mist that appears a little while and then vanishes” (James 4:14 ESV). All of us would agree that time flies so fast and our time here on earth would end because of death. Our life in light of eternity is merely a dot in a never-ending line.

We would do well to ask ourselves, “What would I do if I knew I only have 10 remaining years to live? 2 years? 1 year? 1 month? What if it’s our last day here on earth?” For sure, we’d make the most of those days and use it for the things that would really matter.

If we try to look back and track down how we spent our days, all of us would agree and admit that we have used our time for trivial and nonsense pursuits that do not have eternal value. All of us have this regret that if we could just go back in time and change the things we did, all of us would have done it.

I am personally guilty of this. I spent time watching movies and videos that do not edify the soul but corrupt it and make it stagnant. I spent time in social media. I even spent also time in games that do not have eternal significance.

Thankfully, though I wasted too much time and bear its consequences, Jesus Christ, the God of time came into this world to save me through His perfect life, death on the cross, and resurrection from the ultimate consequence of a wasted life – eternal punishment from hell when I repented from my sins and trust in Him as my Lord and Savior. He not just redeemed me from the penalty of sin but has given me the power to redeem time through the Holy Spirit. This gift is offered to all through Jesus Christ. We just need to respond in repentance and faith in Him as our Lord and Savior.


 Behold, I am coming soon, bringing my recompense with me, to repay each one for what he has done. (Rev. 22:12 ESV)

All of us have short lives and all of us will soon die and face the judgment of God. We will all be held accountable with what we have done with our lives. If we just merely lived for the enjoyment of ourselves without considering God then it’s sad to say that He will give us punishment as a consequence for this wasted life.

Empty and trivial pursuits for the enjoyment of oneself is not what we are made for. Our souls are made to delight with our Creator. He wants to give us the highest joy and ultimate pleasure (Psalm 16:11). He doesn’t want us to live a wasted and empty life but wants us to have an abundant life (John 10:10) – a life of unshakeable peace amidst difficult circumstances, a fully satisfied life because it has found the true Satisfaction, and a life with abounding joy amidst suffering.

We only have one life and let us make this life count by offering it to Jesus, His kingdom and His cause. We are made to love and enjoy Someone better and we are designed to do greatest thing for the Highest cause: to go and make disciples of all nations for His glory. (Matt.28:18-20) Until our hearts beat for Jesus and His glory, life would be meaningless and empty.

And as we close, may we be reminded of this quote as we consider the brevity of life:

Only one life, ’twill soon be past, only what’s done for Christ will last. (C.T. Studd)

Author: justinmykoagpangan

I don't know where to pour out my thoughts so I've decided to pour it out on my blog posts. I want to encourage and enlighten people through my blog posts so I really hope that I'd be a blessing to you as the reader. I just want also to take this opportunity to say how much I appreciate the people who have read my blog posts. Thank you in advance! :) Feel free to comment your questions, criticisms, and encouragements. I'd really appreciate it.

Leave a comment