5 Reasons Why I Love to Read

I love to read whenever I have free time because I believe it’s one of the best ways I can redeem my time for a profitable purpose. In this article, I would want to enumerate the reasons why I love to read.

Here it goes.

The first reason is that among all the possibilities that God could think of, He chose to communicate to us through a book – the Bible. Let us take a moment for that reality to sink in. God chose to communicate to us through a book, hence, we should read the Bible to learn more about God, his plan of salvation, how can we obtain it, and what we ought to do to please Him. I love to read because I love the God of the Bible. Through reading His word, I know more of Him. As I know more of Him, my love for Him grows deeper. And my love for Him abounds, obeying Him inevitably follows because love fuels obedience. I love to read books as well that point to a deeper understanding of God and His word.

The second reason is that reading makes me better. Reading books written by people who are ahead of me in age, maturity, knowledge, and experience helps me be better at the things that I am not good at. I do not mean to say that knowledge guarantees improvement but rather knowledge is a means for us to be better when it is daily applied in our lives.

The third reason is that reading is an efficient tool for learning things. I think that it’s more efficient to learn from others who have already mastered topics and disciplines rather than figuring things out on my own. In my case, it will take me more time to figure things out on my own as compared to learning from more experienced people through reading. Imagine 20 to 30 years of experience that could be read in just a matter of days. Reading surely allows us to save more time. I do not mean to say that knowledge acquired through reading equates to wisdom and experience. What I am trying to say is that through reading, I now have a proven framework for doing future tasks.

The fourth reason is that reading helps us make friends. Reading is a hobby that is shared by lots of people. When someone says he or she has read a book that I also read then I now have a common interest with that person which I could use to spark a meaningful conversation. I could say to that person with eyes that sparkle interest, “I read that book as well and I loved it.”

The fifth reason is that reading helps me become a better writer. I love to write. One sure way of improving our writing is to read the great writings of others. Reading great writings makes me aware of different writing styles; of rational correlation of an author’s thought to the other; of grammars and syntax. I believe that if one is to aspire to be a prolific writer that person should also be a voracious reader. Since, we cannot give what we do not have, reading is one way of having so that we would have something to give to others.

Here are 5 reasons I can think of why I love reading. I hope this will encourage us to make reading an essential discipline of our lives. Let us read more and better for the glory of God and for the good of others.

Author: justinmykoagpangan

I don't know where to pour out my thoughts so I've decided to pour it out on my blog posts. I want to encourage and enlighten people through my blog posts so I really hope that I'd be a blessing to you as the reader. I just want also to take this opportunity to say how much I appreciate the people who have read my blog posts. Thank you in advance! :) Feel free to comment your questions, criticisms, and encouragements. I'd really appreciate it.

Leave a comment